Tubular Bells III
Released on October 1st, 1998
Side one
01. The Source of Secrets
02. The Watchful Eye
03. Jewel in the Crown
04. Outcast
05. Serpent Dream
06. The Inner Child
Side two
01. Man in the Rain
02. The Top of the Morning
03. Moonwatch
04. Secrets
05. Far Above the Clouds
Tubular Bells III is the 18th album by Mike Oldfield, released in 1998. A sequel to Oldfield's 1973 Tubular Bells and his 1992 Tubular Bells II albums, it was released on the 25th anniversary of the first Tubular Bells album.

At the time of creating Tubular Bells III Oldfield had been living in Ibiza, and thus certain elements of the album reflect the moods of the island. All tracks by Mike Oldfield.
Early versions
Oldfield has stated that he initially recorded over 70 minutes of music for Tubular Bells III but trimmed it down to the current 46 minutes and 38 seconds. An early version of "Man in the Rain" was written shortly after 1983's "Moonlight Shadow", and is similar in style to the song. An early version of "The Source of Secrets" appears on the compilation XXV The Essential.
Premiere concert
On September 4, 1998, six years to the day after the premiere of Tubular Bells II at Edinburgh Castle, Oldfield held a premiere concert for Tubular Bells III at Horse Guards Parade in London. The live version of the complete album from the premiere concert is available on the double DVD Tubular Bells II/Tubular Bells III.

The Live Then & Now 1999 tour was in promotion of this album and his following album, Guitars.
Critical reaction
Tubular Bells III is the least successful of the three main "Tubular Bells albums", only attaining #4 on the UK chart, unlike its two chart topping predecessors. Critical reaction was mixed. The very distinct similarity of "Man in the Rain" to the hit "Moonlight Shadow" was sometimes interpreted as Oldfield trying to retread old ground.
The tracks "The Source of Secrets", "Jewel in the Crown", and "Secrets" feature Amar as a vocalist. Oldfield can be heard on "Outcast". "The Inner Child" features Luar Na Lubre vocalist Rosa CedrĂ³n and "Man in the Rain" was sung by Cara Dillon (of Polar Star), with additional vocals by Heather Burnett. "Far Above the Clouds" features Clodagh Simonds and Francesca Robertson.
Some of the instruments which appear on the album are a Roland D-550, JD-990, JV1080, Clavia Nord Lead, and Korg Trinity synthesisers. The Roland VG8 Guitar synthesiser is used on tracks such "Man in the Rain".

Oldfield also used sampled drums from his Crises and Ommadawn album on certain tracks. "Man in the Rain" features sampled drums from "Moonlight Shadow", "Outcast" features sampled drums from "Shadow on the Wall" and "Far Above the Clouds" features sampled drums from the end of "Ommadawn part 1".